The Wannabe Herbivore: Moo Free Bunnycomb Bars

A Good Week

Hey y’all!

I hope you’ve had a great week! I’ve had a good week both generally and in terms of eating.

I won’t outline every little thing I ate each day, as I have a whole week to get through, but I felt pretty good about my decisions this week, and I am feeling physically well as a result.

My main meals this week that I ate for lunches and dinners were roasted tomato pesto pasta, mushroom risotto, and roasted tomato and coconut soup.

The two roast tomato meals were from Oh She Glows, and oh were they delicious! I highly recommend them.

The Wannabe Herbivore: Oh She Glows roasted tomato pesto pasta
A terrible photo of my pesto pasta

 

The risotto wasn’t exactly a traditional risotto. I really, really wanted a mushroom risotto, but I’ve been eating heavy foods recently, and just wanted to give my body a bit of a break, so I made it with quinoa. I didn’t follow a recipe, but cooked the mushrooms, added the quinoa and veggie stock, and let it cook. Then sautéed some red onion with a splash of balsamic vinegar, and added that in at the end. I loved it!

The Wannabe Herbivore: Mushroom, red onion, and quinoa "risotto"
Mushroom, red onion, and quinoa “risotto”

I also attempted chia seed pudding as a snack option. I didn’t get the flavouring quite right, so it was a bit plain, but otherwise a good snack.

The Wannabe Herbivore: Chia pudding
Chia pudding

I had a social eating win on Friday, with office breakfast. We went to our usual cafe, where I’m normally disappointed with the options, but they had some vegan muesli balls available. As it’s getting colder here, these weren’t my first choice, but I was happy to have something. However, when I ordered, the waitress asked if I was vegan, and then proceeded to tell me all the other vegan options available and what they could change for me. I ended up ordering this Mexican influenced breakfast and it was delicious! They’ve won me over.

The Wannabe Herbivore: Stagger Lee's breakfast
My Mexican breakfast

I did have a bit of junk this week. On Wednesday I had dinner with a friend and we ordered pizza. I got mine without cheese or meat, so I thought that was a good compromise, and I felt a lot better than I would have eating a pizza with cheese.

I also treated myself to some Moo Free chocolate – I don’t know if anyone else has tried it, but YUM! So good. I also had some chips, and a few pieces of liquorice.

The Wannabe Herbivore: Moo Free Bunnycomb Bars
Moo Free Bunnycomb Bars

Friday night was a family dinner and we had Thai food. I couldn’t guarantee that everything was vegan, but I did my best and only had vegetarian items.

Despite the few treats, I stayed plant based all week! I’m feeling the benefits in that I’m generally happier, I feel healthier, I feel less puffy, and I went for run earlier in the week and ran the furthest ever! I should probably make it clear that it wasn’t far for most normal people, but it was an achievement for me, and I think a lot of it is down to eating better foods and less dairy.

This weekend I have a dinner with friends at a place that I don’t believe has any plant-based options. So we’ll see how that goes.

I’ll touch base again in a few days. Enjoy your weekend!

Leave a Reply

